Literary Awards: Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize

We are chuffed to see the literary awards season in full swing and to be announcing the second instalment of our literary awards blog post series. (You can find the first one here.) Today marks the announcement of the Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize shortlist. Congratulations to the shortlisted publishers and authors:

Bad Endings
Carleigh Baker
Anvil Press
The Last Neanderthal
Claire Cameron
Doubleday Canada
David Chariandy
McClelland & Stewart
American War
Omar El Akkad
McClelland & Stewart
This Accident of Being Lost
Leanne Betasamosake Simpson
House of Anansi Press

You can see all the books in this BNC CataList catalogue.

Being shortlisted for the Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize may not necessarily have an immediate significant impact on sales. Historically, the winning title sees the biggest sales increase and there's often a bump for shortlisted titles after the winner is announced, with sales for all titles peaking during the holiday season.

Titles with nominations for multiple awards tend to fare better in sales than those with one. Over the past six years, the winning titles with the highest sales have been André Alexis’s Fifteen Dogs and Patrick deWitt’s The Sisters BrothersFifteen Dogs won the Scotiabank Giller Prize in addition to the Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize, while The Sisters Brothers was shortlisted for the Governor General’s Fiction Award and the Man Booker Prize the year it won. The added publicity garnered from multiple nominations may also benefit sales for titles that don't win, such as Katherena Vermette’s The Break, which received multiple nominations and experienced the highest sales out of the five nominated titles in 2016.

The winning books from the last three years are: 

2016 2015 2014
Mysterious Fragrance of the Yellow Mountains
Yasuko Thanh
Penguin Canada
Fifteen Dogs
André Alexis
Coach House Books
All My Puny Sorrows
Miriam Toews
Vintage Canada

The 2017 winner will be announced on Nov. 14, 2017.