Standards and Certification

Standards are an essential part of a healthy supply chain. BookNet Canada consults on and develops standards with the Canadian book industry’s needs in mind.

We primarily work on four kinds of standards:

  1. EDI

  2. Product identifiers

  3. Subject and other classification schemes (Thema, BISAC, etc.)

  4. ONIX

We support the use of these standards in the Canadian industry through Canadian Bibliographic Certification, which tests a publisher’s or distributor’s production file for structure, content and other criteria. Certification criteria is based on the three levels of the Canadian Bibliographic Standard and feedback from data aggregators.

BookNet Canada also monitors and participates in the development of several other industry standards. These include:

  • Accessibility standards

  • EPUB

  • GDSN

  • SAN and GLN

Let us know how we can help!

We want to help you with metadata and standards. If you have questions about industry standards and our resources haven’t answered them, please send us a message so we can lend a hand.